1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Writers

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Hexagon, Jul 21, 2013.

1. Hexagon

I believe there are a fair number of writers here on EC. So my question to you is how detailed to you make your world, in terms of details that you don't explicitly give your reader? Often, I draw my world, or objects in it. I do characters sometimes, but I'm not very good at that. If its a sci-fi or fantasy setting, I carefully design laws, magic, technology and history to ridiculous detail. It helps me to picture the world, gives me a feel for what it does, how it works, and it also helps me feel that I'm describing events realistically.

A recent example of this would be:

(I also drew, then photoshopped the item in question)

2. BornInTexas

Mine are usually very detailed. I write Star Wars sci-fi, so it might be a little easier as I have a guide called Wookieepedia.

3. Gen

Gen

I plan things out to the max.

I've currently been working on a fantasy series, which is the absolute worst in terms of the amount of though and planning to actually be logical and reasonably realistic. I think the hardest thing about it, and something that I'm not even completely done with after ages of sorting things out is that the story deals with magic and, although most of the magic isn't exclusive per-se, each individuals is going to have an instinct preference to specialization because of genetics, bloodline, heritage, etc steming all the way back to the tribal origins of 'man'(In this world).

For something so simple as a reader reading that "Oh, he's of this bloodline/specialization", I have to become a genetics professor and spends hours mapping out each pairing, their offspring, the offspring's offspring, for generations, just to say "Oh he should be this"........