1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out to your boss? Would you?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by Femme, Feb 17, 2013.

1. Femme

I'm fairly new to this site so I'll give a little background info in case anyone reads this.

I'm a teacher that is not out at work to anyone except for 1 teacher that I knew before we worked in the same school district.

I have an excellent relationship with my district coordinator (my boss). We have been working together for 3 years and have socialized personally on a few occasions. My best friend and x bf came to a work event once simply because I didn't want to go alone and didn't plan on bringing my gf because I'm not out. I always said he is my friend nothing more. Yet I know people assume we are together.

I just feel like I will eventually have to come out and the longer I wait, the weirder it will be when I do tell my supervisor. She will definitely be supportive but I worry about whether she will be confidential. I work in a small community where everyone knows everything. It's not an accepting community which is one of the reasons I have stayed in the closet at work.

Not sure what advice I'm looking for. Just wondering if anyone had experience coming out at work or in your professional circles.

Thanks.

2. BornInTexas

I've never told my boss at my part-time job, even though we had a great personal relationship, too. Nor did I come out to any of my teachers. I know some teachers that WILL be supportive, but I think it would be weird to come out to them. If you're supposed to be professional in the workplace, I wouldn't want any other awkwardness.

If you do want to come out to your boss, tell your supervisor on a personal occasion, like when you go out to a restaurant or something. Be as casual as possible. That's all the advice I can offer. Keep me updated! :slight_smile: