1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

writing an FTM character

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Ettina, Mar 22, 2014.

1. Ettina

Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I don't know if I mentioned this before, but I'm an aspiring author. I really like writing supernatural fiction, and I'm hoping to get something published eventually.

I just found myself writing one character as FTM (post-transition). He's part of an old family who are sort of a vampire/werewolf combination. They're werewolves (or wereravens) before death, and after they die they come back as vampires with some ability to shapeshift.

Once they come back as vampires, their physical appearance is determined by their body image. So if they're trans, their body changes to match their gender identity. (They can also look like any age up until the age they died, and some of their powers increase the older they were at death.)

My protagonist had no idea becoming a vampire would turn him physically male, but his dysphoria was so bad he decided to kill himself. His plan was to make sure he didn't come back as a vampire, but he screwed that part up, and then realized he'd solved his problem anyway.

Unfortunately, his family is really freaked out. They're a matriarchy with pretty strict gender roles, so having one of their daughters become a man was a big disappointment. Plus, they're mad that he didn't produce an heir before he died, because vampires can't reproduce. And they have absolutely no understanding of trans people - they basically think he's nuts, and if he manages to work out his issues, he'll turn back female. (If he somehow changed his gender identity to female, he would turn physically female, but that's never going to happen.) So he's mostly estranged from his family.