1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why do I still experience so much anxiety and uncertainty about my orientation? Does it go away?

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by AnxiousReader, Feb 17, 2024.

1. AnxiousReader

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hi again all. I’ve been inactive for a bit because of the holidays so this is my first time logging on in a while. I have been really struggling with my anxiety though and that always exacerbates how I feel and I have no outlet because I have no queer community and places like this forum are really all I have. I have been really struggling because I feel very…adrift. I feel like the lack of a queer community really contributes to this for me too as well as just feeling in general somewhat socially anxious because even though I desperately crave interactions with people like me, I also feel like I don’t fit in with anyone really because of my lack of experiences. It also played a large role in me only really dealing with the question of my actual sexual identity over the past few years. The problem though is it takes up so much of my mental energy trying to make myself make sense to myself and though I know I don’t *need* a label I really feel like for my own sanity I have to try to understand myself because otherwise I feel like I’m going crazy. At this point in my life I only know one thing for certain and that’s that I *want* to be with women. I feel things towards women that I don’t with men. The problem though is I alternate between feeling very confident in my attractions to women and then being really scared and uncomfortable. I want to have a relationship with a woman but the idea of actually having a sexual relationship is also so scary to me because I have never had sex with anyone in my life, (which I realize is probably unusual for someone as old as I am.) I onl