1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Saddest Week of My Life

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by dfgnan21, Mar 26, 2007.

1. dfgnan21

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Since the beginning of this year it's been my new year's resolution to come out and be true to who I really am to the people I care about. I've come out to some close friends, friends in the gay community, and people who I knew would be very supportive. I've also come out to my older siblings. Everything was going good so far.
    However, last Monday things turned badly for me. I dated a girl in high school for about half my senior year (im a 3rd year college student now) who I cared about a lot. Things obviously didn't work because once it was time to go to the next level, I couldn't do it (being more attracted to guys). I ended the relationship because I was so confused and upset by it all. We still maintained a friendship, although not as good as it once was. She died in a car wreck on Monday morning and I've been taking it really hard. It's difficult to eat, sleep, and I've cried more than I ever though I could. The two of us saw each other during the holiday, but I've been so busy consumed with my issues and I haven't gotten around to catching up with her lately. She never found out that I was gay, and now I'm just hopeless that I never got the chance to tell her, and explain everything and let her know how much I cared. Yesterday I had to bury my first friend and person from my high school class, so I haven't had much experience with people dying who are my age... someone with so much ahead of them. It just breaks my heart because she was such a good, happy, and wonderful person who's now out of my life forever.