1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

fear of the unknown

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by redstatic, Jan 14, 2024.

1. redstatic

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Out Status:
    All but family
    (Not LGBT related but i could use some advice or some words of reassurance, or at least having a place to put my feelings)

I'm in my last year of university, I'm working on my bachelor's degree project, I need to find options for master's degree, I need to choose something specific to focus on in my career going forward and I'm torn between two niches. Put more urgently, finals are starting in one week and I'm starting some sort of unpaid semi internship or something tomorrow and I feel completely paralyzed because of the amount of work I already have to do for uni, whatever will come with the internship (I'm completely in the dark about what my tasks entail), and the self doubt about how well I'll do this semester and if I'll be able to keep up.

What if I'm not good enough? What if I am, but I'm so disorganised that I'll mess it all up? What if I keep freezing and won't be able to get out of that paralysis? I feel like there's so much stuff being thrown at me and I'm actually, genuinely, terrified. And the worst part is, usually I'd feel afraid and then get unreal amounts of motivation, but now??? I can't do anything.

I know this is incoherent, I'm not in the best mindset right now lol.

2. tearingtherose

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people