1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Art Block or Mental Block

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Sepina, Jan 22, 2020.

1. Sepina

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    The past year or so, I've been trying on/off to get back into my art. I really have no motivation, I don't have the skills I once had. I'm at a loss when I compare my art now to art I did 5-6 years ago.

Have any of you overcome an obstacle like this?, it doesn't even have to be art. I'd really love your input. :slight_smile:

2. musicteach

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hey! It’s okay! I’m not an artist but I am a musician and I imagine that many of the same things can be transferred over. Some things — like art and music — are skills that we learn over time and we put alot of effort into learning that skill. But the good news is that we never truly forget that skill, and while it’ll take some time to get back to where you were, it won’t take nearly as long as it did to learn it the first time. The skills kinda get a little “rusty” but they don’t ever really disappear.

Honestly I think this sort of thing happens to everyone at some point in their lives. I’m a musician, right? I play every day. Maybe it’s trumpet, maybe it’s piano, maybe it’s tuba, maybe it’s just running through rudimental exercises with a pair of sticks and a drum pad. But I play everyday. A couple of years ago, I had surgery to remove my tonsils because they got infected. I couldn’t play for a week and when I finally did pick up my trumpet, my skills weren’t as sharp as they had been. My tone was terrible, I felt like I wasn’t in control of my tongue and what I was trying to play. I even felt like I had lost air capacity in just a week because it felt like I didn’t have the same air support I had before.