1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VIRGINIA (Moving Tips? Places to check out?)

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Belle the Bee, Apr 28, 2015.

1. Belle the Bee

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Ok so after too long of a time in court with my parents over custody, my mom, sister and I are finally moving to Virginia.
    We currently live in Michigan and I've lived in the same town my whole life.
    So how's Virginia?
    I've visited once and loved it but first impressions can be deciving.
    Also I'm a sophomore in high school, so any advice on starting a new school?
    And are LGBT youth welcome?
    Sorry so many questions, but this is all so new (and scary and exciting and a lot of other emotions)

2. SemiCharmedLife

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Virginia is a big state with a lot of different regions, each with its own culture and level of LGBT friendliness. What part will you be moving to?

3. AKTodd

Virginia is something of a mixed bag, really.

On the one hand it has a long history of being a conservative red state where you can still find people flying the Confederate flag and complaining about the 'War of Northern Aggression'. OTOH it has taken on a distinctly blue tinge in some ways (Governor, Lt. Gov, and Attorney General are all elected Democrats). SSM is legal here.

A lot can depend on what part of the state you are living in.

Northern Virginia (basically Washington DC and the surrounding areas) is very blue and has a high liberal quotient. The Human Rights Campaign is based there and in some areas of the city you can see guys holding hands.

I haven't had much to do with Richmond, but my understanding is that it has a fairly large and vibrant LGBT community. Not anything on the scale of DC or NY or LA, but they're there.