1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Trying to speak in a gender neutral way

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Blast, Apr 28, 2018.

1. Blast

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi :slight_smile: I work in retail. At work, I have been attempting to speak in a gender neutral way for a long time now.
    I do this as I believe this is the most polite way to talk about strangers... I would be devastated if I thought someone had a bad day after I misgendered them.

The only issue is that, in my new retail job at the checkout, a lot of customers request that someone help them with taking their shopping out to their cars.
    I then have to radio this to my colleagues in front of the customer. "Is anybody available to help this lady with her shopping out to her car please?"
    Now, I realise that I could say "customer" instead of "lady" and just miss out the two "her/him"s altogether but I feel that "customer" is so impersonal and dehumanising to say that in front of someone who I have most likely just had a friendly chat with.

Further to this, where I have moved to is a lot more of a rural area than before... and there a lot more visible trans people about (as I assume they have less money to spend and less access to items which may make them less visible).
    And I would feel like a right little shit if I used "customer" for them and no one else.
    Is it rude to ask a trans person, who I dont know, what their pronouns are in front of everyone at the checkout (I assume, yes it is rude)?

What is the solution? Is the solution really just to get over myself and say "customer" or is there another way of saying it that I am missing here?

Thank you

Richard321, smurf and KayNB like this.
  2. KayNB

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people