1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Struggling with vanity vs dysphoria

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Ariate, Apr 19, 2021.

1. Ariate

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Hi ! This is my first time posting on this forum but I've been reading it for a while and have been on trans reddit and discord for years now. I'm AMAB questionning whether I'm MtX/MtF. Basically I've been hardcore questioning for ~5 years to the point that it is driving me litteraly nuts and I'm getting quite depressed.

I have tons of questions, the flow of them never end but I may write a master thread of my questioning next time, for now I'm copy pasting this text I wrote somewhere else today:

All my life I've been jealous of cute girl my age and since I (re)discovered I may be trans a few years ago my life has been hell and I'm getting more and more depressed. I can't even see a girl without hurting some days, but that's the thing I get insanely jealous to the point of physical hurt when I see *cute girl my age* and I feel horrible because I feel like I simply want to be cute, that I'm ageist, sexist and have unrealistic beauty standards.

I don't want to be an old woman, especially since I have huge issues with my mom I don't want to look like her. This makes me think I'm not trans because I don't simply want to be a woman, I want to be a pretty one and I feel horrible about it. I think I'm trans on some level, dudes don't usually hurt that way, fine. But I wouldn't benefit from an actual real life transition I think ? I don't know anymore.

I want to go back to being in denial and simply dreaming about magically becoming a pretty girl and forget about all this it's hurting me too much I'm getting reallly, really depressed...