Story Writing....

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by nodoubtjunkie, Sep 14, 2008.

1. I'm a big writer, and was hugely inspired to write today, as i usually do when I'm not feeling so hot. I've got to a point where i can't think what to write, so i started another lol, but it's just a fanfic so i don't really feel like its my work. Anyone think they can help? I think i just need focus, but can't find a way to go forward.

I'll post it if people think they can help....

Thanksies

x

2. Psychedelic Bookmarks

I might be able to help, depending on what fandom/genre it is. I write my own fanfiction. =]

3. Lexington

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Fanfic IS your own work.

I look at fanfiction this way. You're given a set of characters - they're like chess pieces. They only move in certain ways. This character acts THIS way, and this other one acts THAT way. So no, you can't claim credit for that. But you can still play chess with them. You can move them this way and that, and see what you come up with. And I've seen some really really good fanfic. Just because the characters aren't theirs doesn't mean the writing isn't.

As far as the writing goes, don't force it. If you hit a snag, stop. Go do something else. Lay down and daydream. Move the characters this way and that. What would happen if THIS happens? Not interesting, not what you wanted? Fine - back up, and try something else. Eventually, something hits. Something feels RIGHT. THAT's when you get back to the keyboard and start writing again. :slight_smile:

Lex

4. riley

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    i would love to read your writing if you dont mind

5. The story i'm writing that i'm stuck on isn't the fanfic but the one that is not the fan fic. I will post the one i'm stuck with on my next post.