1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Staying under cover.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by paper person, Aug 4, 2011.

1. paper person

Still coming to terms with who I am and I would prefer for people to not know until I tell them. It seems that since coming out to myself, certain comments hold more importants than before. It now seems that I might have given off unintentional signals that may indicate my not 100% heterosexuality. Just a couple of examples.

My mom has been inquiring about my other friend’s girlfriends and about who I am going to prom with. I’ve never had a girlfriend. And I would not mind having one but I’m not good with relationship stuff to begin with and I don’t want to give the impression I’m gay.

I also had a girl who was really into me and showed it a lot, lots of hand holding and sweatshirt stealing. Hell I even slept in her room, but I never thought we we’re more than friends. Now I realize she was into me even after all my friends had told me so. I thought they we're just messing with me. I don’t want to seem gay because I was not think of doing anything romantic/sexual just because I was not interested and have standards.

I as have a really good friend who likes to make a lot of gay jokes. Not mean things just that questioning a man’s sexuality is always supposed to be offensive even in the lighthearted way we do. I feel like I’m reacting differently to her comments and that she is bringing them up more often. I really hope she hasn't figured anything out.