1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Quit my job today

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by ZeroDarkness, Sep 19, 2016.

1. ZeroDarkness

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I guess I just want to vent, so I don't really expect anyone to read this. I have been working retail for almost 4 years now. At the job I'm currently at, I am the first person people see about any kind of issue. As you might imagine, if people need to come in for any issues they are generally angry before they even step in the door. Now, I meet upwards of 30 different customers a day, all for different issues. My best guess is that at least half of them are rude or treat me like garbage, possibly more.

Now very rarely someone comes in and treats me with respect, and I will go out of my way to help them out. Those times are just fine, and it helps the time pass. But again, most of the times I can't even greet the person before they are on about "You guys sold me this and it didn't work. Why would you lie to me?" or "Why are they even paying you if you can't do your job?". Yes, those are both real examples, and neither of them had anything whatsoever to do with me (in fact the last one the lady actually completely destroyed the item and was wanting me to return it out of 30 days).

As you can see, it's literally just people yelling at me and pointing fingers at me all day, despite me never leaving the counter and having no interaction with them prior to this angry display. It's gone so far as people cussing me out and throwing stuff at me because they are asking for something absurd (like a plane ticket because they flew across the US to return an item when they had the same stores where they live, ie they wanted a free vacation). I've literally seen it all.