1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New relationship - Is it okay for him to still be friends with his FWB?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by newtothis32, Oct 16, 2017.

1. newtothis32

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hey everyone, I'm newly out and have entered my first relationship with a guy. I wouldn't mind some advice as I'm new to relationships in general as I didn't date while in university. It's been a month and both of us have only been out for under 6 months. We became close and were more of friends with benefits about 4 months ago as he said he didn't want anything exclusive and wasn't ready for a relationship. Eventually I developed stronger feelings for him and broke things off as he had at least one other "hang out bud" and he seemed confused. We had a good talk and he kind of hinted that he was confused and not ready and thought maybe he would become more serious with his other FWB. I was really hurt, but we remained friends and organically started hanging out almost every day and things started up again a couple months ago until he asked me to be official / boyfriends as he was ready and said he realized how strong his feelings were for me. Things have been going great and we discussed that we are exclusive. I was mature and polite and let anyone I had been casually dating know that we couldn't hang out anymore, and I kind of assumed he did the same thing, so I haven't specifically asked him whom he talks to etc as I do trust him. This weekend I noticed that he's started liking his ex-FWBs social media posts after not liking anything since we started being exclusive. I don't think that they are seeing each other in person at all as we are nearly inseparable, and I have no idea if they still talk over text etc. The relationship seems very warm and he has been very open about how much he