1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new arrival, give me a nametag

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by IThinkInCircles, Jan 18, 2011.

1. IThinkInCircles

Hi everyone -

For now, I'll go by Emm, and I'm a liberally-oriented college student in northern IL. I'm studying to be a music teacher, and and I found this site tonight.

Like my user name might suggest, I've taken multiple laps around the pondering of my sexual orientation. It's very touch-and-go for me; I've gone through phases (determined by what's currently going on in my life) where I either think maniacally about it or don't at all. I recently rejoined the single crowd, and since then, it's been on my mind nonstop.

Brief history: I met my first LGB friends when I was 14 and first T at 18, and up until my freshman year in college, I basically lived a straight life. Though the idea had briefly crossed my mind before, a handful of incidents during my first year of college set off an inconclusive mental road trip over if/where I fit into the LGBTQ community. Fast forward four years = today.

I think I'm somewhere in the middle, but because of some complicated/oddly-grouped factors in my life, I really don't know. I have a lot of questions and even though I have a lot of open-minded and liberal friends, I'm really self-conscious about the fact that I've been thinking about it for four years and can't make up my mind.

I'm looking for people who I can feel comfortable asking these questions to without being judged. I'm glad to be here, and I hope to meet some new friends/confidants here.

Cheers mate.
    Emm

2. alpha