Met someone very special...

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Brianm, Aug 5, 2017.

1. Brianm

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I'll try to make this brief. Married man of 11 years, 2 kids, decided to split with wife a few week ago. In the process of finding my own place right now and happy to begin the process of coming out as a gay man (finally) at the age of 34.

So, since basically cutting myself off from my wife, it's been pretty lonely I my separate room in the house. I started looking at gay dating apps to see what was out there and to possibly start talking to people. Yeah, apparently conversations is a lost art form EXCEPT for one man.

After talking and texting for a week, I had a day away from home and decided to meet with him. Turns out we are complete opposites. Only 3 years difference but he's been out since high school, very youthful, not tied down and experienced. I'm a teacher, much more stable and inexperienced. However, we connected like I've never connected before. He listens to all of my problems, offers advice, and even let me cry in front of him. Yes, we had sex. And afterward, he actually fell asleep next me (which he admits he never has done before).

I've been told on other forums that I need to explore, open myself up to meeting new people and not jump back into a relationship. But I can't help but feel like I don't want him to slip away. I cheated quite a bit in my marriage (which I regret so much) so in a way I feel like I am done with exploring and ready to be with someone I actually have very strong feelings for. He even told me he almost wanted to stop talking to me because he has very strong feelings for me but realizes he needs me to go out and explore.

My heart says take the leap with this new guy but my head says no. I'm so torn.

2. leb10

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    A few people