1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Looking for knowledge about Manchester, England

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by WillowMaiden, Mar 31, 2013.

1. WillowMaiden

WillowMaiden Guest

Hiya! If anyone is from Manchester or has been to Manchester, I could really use your input if it's not a bother. :slight_smile:

I'm a writer and I've recently started a story where one of the characters (named Manny) is native to Manchester. Personality wise I've modeled him after the great Karl Pilkington, so I've got Manny covered there. A nice chunk of his story, though, takes place in Manchester and so far I only have technical information about Manchester, so I'm worried the his interactions with people will be stale or inaccurate to whatever the city's atmosphere or unspoken culture may be. Basically, I can do my research and learn about Manchester as a place, get the setting just so and everything, but what I really need to know about is Manchester as a home, not just a city.

So if it's not too much trouble could some of you answer these questions:

In general, from your experience, what would you say the people of Manchester are like? (I know personalities differ widely everywhere, but there's always a few outlooks and behaviors that most people in a certain area share in common as a result of living in said area.)

Is there a 'big city' or 'small town' mindset amongst most of the people? Is it a place where everyone knows everyone almost to an annoying point (in each other's lives a lot) or everyone's too busy to know anyone to a point where someone could be your neighbor for ten years and you you'd never learn their last name?

Manchester-natives, if you are extroverted and social, what is your typical day like?

As a visitor to Manchester or non-native to the city, what was your experiences like? Good and bad?