1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Just told my Dad

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by dph414, Jan 2, 2013.

1. dph414

dph414 Guest

So, yesterday I wrote a post titled, "I Just Told My Christian Mom", and described how I told my mom I was gay and her reaction. She basically said that I was to young (I'm 18) to declare my sexual orientation, and that because I have never been on a date with a person of either gender, I have no experience to base my decision on. This was at 10 PM yesterday, and as I predicted, she went up and joined my dad in bed, and told him about it. I know this because when he and I were in the car this morning, he said: "Your mother told me about your conversation with her last night." So i'm like "uuuuuuuh, and what do you think?" :confused:
    He told me that I have these feelings because I am shy and I am not the perfect example of the male body, and that I am just experimenting. I get along better with guys and they are easier to talk to than girls. That's why I like them, he said. He also said that at his age, he had the same feelings and even questioned himself, and he didn't go on his first date with a woman until he was in his mid 20s.
    I think my parents do have a point, saying that I have never experienced dating another person of either gender. But I have to argue that ever since I was a little boy I have been attracted to other guys. Not girls. And it has only gotten stronger in recent years.
    Being church-goers, I think deep down my parents may be trying to deny what I have told them, and I'm afraid that they may be disappointed in me. But I can't change who I am.

#1 dph414, Jan 2, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 2, 2013
  2. OtakuCrazed

This is the kind of response I'm afraid of getting when (if) I come out to my parents... they'll figure it out eventually. You know who you are, and that's what's important.

3. Kay

Kay Guest