1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

In love with my "straight" friend - really confused

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Sebastian1, Aug 30, 2013.

1. Sebastian1

Hello there folks. I'm new to this site, and I'm in need of some advice. I've been reading it for a while and am looking forward to interacting with you guys.

This post is really long, a lot longer than I expected, I am really sorry about that. It's very cheeky of me, my first post being a damn dissertation. It's just because this means so much to me, and it's hard to narrow it down. It's about a really confusing, emotionally horrific situation I'm in, which is why it's hard to leave out details. (It's very complex.) I've never written on anything like this before, but I've been reading many people's stories and decided, to vent these thoughts and hopefully get some advice, I'd share my own.

This thing is so powerful and un-ignorable, and I really need help. If any of you have the time to read this for me, I would very greatly appreciate it.

---------

So I have fallen quite deeply in love with a straight man, one of my best friends. He's 22 and I'm 19. I've never fallen in love with a man before, and I've also never fallen in love this intensely in my life. It's been going now for about five and a half months.

We met at a party in March, and just had an instant connection. We were talking all night, smoking together, him pretending to move in to kiss me and licking my face instead. Just flirting, really; drunk and happy. All quite friendly I guess. And so I start to develop feelings for him. He's on my Uni course, but we didn't, during second semester, have any classes in common, so the only times i got to see him for a while (about 6 weeks) were from accidentally bumping into him in uni, and we'd go and smoke on the grass.