1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I need some advice, want to move to a new state.

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Stridenttube, Aug 15, 2013.

1. Stridenttube

Stridenttube Guest

Okay all of you wise people of EC, I need some advice!

I've lived in the same house in the same boring Oklahoma town for my whole life so far, and I want to move. More specifically Florida, and in a few years.

The thing is, I don't know how. I work in IT for a big company that I started a few months ago as my first ever job. I'm waiting to get a few years of experience under my belt first.

How should I go about this? How do I find another job where I want to move to without having to quit this one first? Do you think the job market will be better in three years? I don't want to wait too long because my best friend wants to move too and he would be a fantastic roommate. It's my dream to move there and I want to live there before I'm 30.

Any advice would be super duper awesome.

2. Stridenttube

Stridenttube Guest

Anybody? :confused::icon_sad:

3. LuvMyIB

Finding a job in the IT industry is going to be easier than most. There are many big companies down here that support IT departments. I am not sure what you do in your IT job but you should look into big companies down here. Do you know what section or part of Florida you want to reside in? That will be your first thought then you can go from there. When I moved here 15 years ago we looked online for apartments. Back then it wasn't as up to date as it is now. So finding a place won't be hard. We moved in to very nice condo. Remember things are more expensive here as far as cost of living. That is the only thing I do not like about Florida. (because everyone wants to move here due to weather)