1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Enough experience to know?

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by AzurePhoenix, Jun 13, 2017.

1. AzurePhoenix

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    I think I'm bi - I've been questioning my orientation for a while. The thing is, I've never dated or even kissed anyone, so can I really know my sexual orientation? It's more like I fantasize about both genders, and my eyes tend to linger on an attractive girl more than an attractive guy. Is this enough? Do I have enough life experience to determine this kind of thing? Sorry, I'm really new to this.

2. Cody18

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Some people require experience to know their orientation, however most don't.

I'm sure you've heard this time and time again, but for straight individuals they are never questioned on how they know their orientation, it's just accepted that they do. The only time people expect or feel as if they need experience is when they do not fit into the "straight" or heterosexual label. Although just like many straight people, gay, bisexual etc people often know their orientation without any experience as after all, we know how we feel and experience does neither validate or invalidate this. For example a gay person may have sex with someone of the opposite gender in the past, however this does not invalidate the fact that they are, and now identify as gay.

Summarising; you know how you feel, you are the only one that can truly know, and experience with anyone often isn't required.

However there are cases were people do feel the need to have experience to know, if this is the case with you, that's also fine, everyone's journey of self discovery is different.

Ultimately you'll figure out what label fits you best in time.