1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out to myself

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Kin, Dec 19, 2013.

1. Kin

Kin

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hi, I'm new to EC but I was reading some of the wonderful (and sometimes upsetting) threads and decided to tell you about the current situation with my sexuality, I'll hopefully get some insight and enlightenment on the journey of accepting being gay.

So, firstly, I didn't think seriously about being potentially gay until the beginning of this year. I always thought women were cute or pretty, beautiful even, but never felt sexually attracted to them, but didn't consider being gay. Only once did I feel romantically attracted to a girl (in the sense that I loved her to pieces) and even then I felt nothing sexually towards her, she was/is more of a sister to me than anything, I guess I just never had that good of a friend before. We just clicked straight away and it upset me (still does to some degree) that I didn't feel attracted to her, I thought she'd be everything I ever wanted in a person, but that's when I first felt that something wasn't right. That was when I noticed that I'd never liked girls sexually.

That was the first time I considered that I could be gay. I felt so angry at myself, I've always wanted to get married, have biological children, someone to pass my last name to (I know, I'm overly sentimental :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:) and discovering I could be gay made me feel that I had betrayed myself. Now, I know about surrogacy and adoption but I narrow-mindedly wanted a 'normal life'.