1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone else struggle with feelings of routine self-loathing?

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Steve FS, Nov 17, 2015.

1. Steve FS

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    All but family
    Hello. I'm not good at opening threads, so I thought I'd just get right into it. Maybe I don't necessarily need advice and maybe I just need to vent? I don't know yet, but let's try. (!)

For the longest time, I've been struggling with a bit of cycling self-loathing, and I'm not sure how I can get rid of it. I feel like the only way that I've been coping is by bottling up my emotions, and they end up exploding in someway. I just can't seem to let these feelings go.

So...currently, as I'm typing this, I feel like I'm OK-looking. I mean I have far from a nice body, but I think I have a nice face and a likable personality, so when I'm having a good day, I'm pretty content with myself.

But when I have my bad days, it hits me fucking hard. I feel like I'm a worthless piece of shit that no one could ever like, and I end up ruining myself: sabotaging my diet, not exercising, creeping on depressing articles and watching sad videos. I hate doing this. I don't know why I resort to feeling this way. I don't know why I feel like having an urge to backpedal to these depressing emotions. I don't know why I feel like I have to force self-contentment. Self-happiness is such an alien feeling to me.

Could it stem from me being overweight as a child? I'm not sure. I was a pretty big kid, so it could be that low self-esteem talking. Has anyone been obese and lost a lot of weight? Maybe I'm not alone on this.

Or.. maybe it's... I just - I don't know what it is.

It's like for 5 days I'm okay, and then on the 6th day my self-esteem rises to peak levels, and then the 7th day I feel like I'm the ugliest thing on the planet.