1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A blog for finding a job

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Mihael, May 9, 2019.

1. Mihael

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi there

Since I've been struggling to get a job, I was thinking how to better market myself and came up with the idea of writing a blog, since my writing is decent and an advantage. So I made a blog and I began. But I wonder about one thing. By no means am I an expert. What should I write about? I'm in the middle of university and study computer science. I lack interesting projects, which might be a disadvantage when looking for a job. I just do projects for class and they are, well, for learners. But I am a good student and know what I should know, on the contrary to many other people in my grade. Any tips what to write about? The purpose of the blog is rather for it to be for potential employers to read rather than to be popular in the internet. I feel like I have nothing very interesting to say, since I'm not an expert. Nor do I do anything impressive like, I can't build a website and never built an app with a practical purpose. I think I could do the latter but it would take me some time and learning, not like I'd make it in a snapshot. But I know all the basics needed for it.

2. SemiCharmedLife

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I work in HR in the tech world. My advice is to work on your coding and have a GitHub or a portfolio to show off what you know. If you want to be a developer, the people hiring you will hire you based on your programming more so than your writing. That's where I'd start. Also posting about what you're doing on LinkedIn will get you noticed as well.

Mihael likes this.
  3. Mihael

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status: