1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

People who majored in fields that "doesn't guarantee employment", how are you doing now?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Nightlight, Jun 17, 2018.

1. azzi

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Wow! They have sign-in bonus that high? Hmm I should tell my friend about it.

Oh tell your friend's wife to go move somewhere else. They will pay her higher especially if she has experience. Then keep her current job as a per diem or part time, that way if she doesnt like her new job, she can still come back. Plus with per diem or part time, they will increase her salary too at her current one.

2. DRobs

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I have a BA in Psychology - I work in procurement.
    After I graduated college I looked for work in the mental health field. Only received 1 job offer to work as a social worker at a 1/2 way house out of a Mental Institution. Salary was $15k a year in 1997. Those with Masters Degree were paid $30k per year. $15k per year was crap money then and there was no way I'd be able to survive on it. I turned the job the down.

My 1st job was a material control clerk at a Japanese Capacitor company making $21K per year. The job involved moving materials from overseas to the US. Next job, and jobs since, have been in Purchasing.

Hindsight being 20/20 I think I would've enjoyed trade school more than college. I've met 21 year old kids making $100k+ a year working in Union trades.

Edited to add: Another vote for Nursing. Good friend of mine went back to college at age 35 and received his Nursing degrees. He was hired on by the Hospital he interned with. Makes good money from what I understand + can work just about anywhere in the US.

#22 DRobs, Jun 18, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2018
  3. Canterpiece