1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burnout and mental health

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Rayland, Feb 22, 2024.

1. Rayland

Moderator Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I've been burned out for quite some time now, but I didn't really see it.

I've been dealing with topics I have no qualification for. I have some experience, but no qualification. I often missed that training, especially when it comes to how to deal with suicide topics, but also self harm, eating disorders and ocd.

Dealing with suicide topic almost made me unable to help anyone else. It caused me severe anxiety and panic attacks.

I'm also a caregiver at home. I do things usually nurses here do. While I do have 2 years worth of training and work experience from working in an intensive care unit in being a caregiver, but even then there are times, where I feel lost. I do remember we did have some training when it comes to mental health and suicide topic. We were told some really horrific stories, when I was a student from how things were in a psychiatric ward and people who work there get self defence training. Working in an intensive care gave me a lot of experience and I saw a lot. There were patients who sometimes used their fists or spat on your face. In a hospital you have an entire team behind you, so you're not too alone.

All the difficult topics I've been dealing with made me feel really alone. There are other places I helped people with beside here in the forum. I think I took too much onto myself. I just felt good after someone have told me that I have helped them. I feel it's good for my soul overall.

I do have sleep disorders and I tend to binge eat.