1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does being in the closet come off as a Red Flag?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Chillton, Oct 19, 2023.

1. Chillton

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I am new to the gay dating scene and I have ran across an unforeseen problem. I have been making a solid effort to put myself out there and roughly flirted with a couple dozen guys and went on a few dates. However, about 1/3 of the guys I flirted with changed their attitude towards me when the conversation naturally brings up the fact that I am still in the closet and do not have much substantial experience dating men yet. They instantly lost all interest and were turned off by that fact. I felt like they regarded me as some painstaking charity case to be avoided or some mundane daily annoyance. In other words a Red flag. I only dug my grave deeper by telling them I am Bi sexual and have plenty of experience dating women so far. ( some guys tried to let me down easy and others reacted horrendously).

It is starting to make me question if being in the closet comes off as a Red flag Inadvertently somehow. I know being new to the LGBT community may not be as preferable when it comes to dating, but I am also not some Ignorant love-struck 18yr old either. Maybe I should just bite the bullet and come out,( ready or not), by jumping into the deep end of the pool. Instead of staying in the closet, treading in the shallow end constantly playing catch up. It doesn't seem like there really is any in-between.

I would be very grateful if anyone has some advice or input to help me out. Moreover, Is there a better way to present myself as in the closet? Is there just a piece of the puzzle going over my head?

2. HM03

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people