1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Constantly doubting my gender identity

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Victoria J, Jun 26, 2023.

1. Victoria J

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi everyone :wave:

I am 34 years old and assigned male at birth and I have been identifying as female since 2021 when I came out as trans woman after a period of 4 years identifying as nonbinary. I now have a female name and identity and my gender expression is female. I am currently in the process of being approved for hormone therapy and I am attending counseling once every other month or so (which isn't a lot I know).

My issue is that I am constantly doubting who I really am. I have this deep felt emptiness regarding my identity and maybe this is because I have Asperger syndrome. Besides this, I have been suffering from severe OCD for decades which makes me doubt everything in life and I suffer from moderate depression as well. I am seeing a therapist for this.

The thing is. I am not sure about anything anymore. I even started to express my gender identity as cis male on some days and female on others. I am constantly doubting myself and my identity and nothing seems like the right thing even though I usually feel slightly better as female. It doesn't help that I don't really see any friends anymore because of my OCD and depression which totally side tracked my life :confused: I am quite isolated besides talking to my mom quite often. But I live in a big city and sometimes I walk outside with a female appearance and other times a male appearance. Sometimes I panic and go back because what I wear feels wrong. And also, I never had a relationship but I somehow know I will have difficulties being intimate with another person as male and female seems more right in regard to that.