Coming out to mom

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Spidersneakers, Apr 21, 2023.

1. Spidersneakers

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hey im FTM transgender. I am 16. I have been passing as a boy for 2 years and lately my mom has been very “open” to trans people. I talk about trans politics sometimes with her, we talk about stuff and she states her opinions on it. Her opinions are mostly judgemental but considering what’s been happening on the news, i dont blame her.

Here are some things that have made me feel like i should come out.

She has told me before that my therapist has called me ‘he’ and she had to correct her multiple times. (i told my therapist I’m trans and closeted but i guess she forgot about the closeted part.)
    that got my mom very suspicious. One night she told me that if i wanna be a boy thats okay. And it really made me feel relieved but we had fought earlier that day so I didn’t want to come out to her then. In another instance, we were talking about my trans friend and she just asked me, “are you trans.” I reacted and quickly said no because my mom was in an argumentative mood as well that day. So she dropped the subject for a bit.

This weekend i was at my dads house and when i came to my moms on Monday i noticed she had bought boys boxers and put them in my underwear drawer. (I was very happy about that it was awesome)
    But it made me really wake up to the fact that shes probably just waiting for me to come out.
    My worry is that she thinks im nonbinary. Which im not. And usually that wouldnt be a big deal, but i feel as though I’ll shock her by telling her im a guy.