1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi everyone

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by ColwynGay, Aug 21, 2019.

1. ColwynGay

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    :blush: Greetings one and all. My name is Steven and I'm at an interesting point in my life. I'm a UK Citizen who has recently moved to Ireland (like 8 weeks ago). I didn't know anyone here when I got off the boat and it's been a tough couple of months finding work and a place to live. For the first time in maybe a year or two though I feel happier. I feel my life is going somewhere. But I still have this little secret that I've been carrying around since I was a younger man. I guess I was a late developer and took a while to really figure myself out. It took me a good long while to accept that I was gay. But I can honestly say today that I've completely accepted myself as I truly am. No guilt or shame is present. However, in the past few weeks I find myself wondering if I should come out to my family or not. I did pluck up the courage to tell a couple of the girls at work (my former job) that I'm sexually attracted to males primarily and both occasions were good experiences. They were very kind and tolerant.
    My parents are old now and not in the best of health. They are also of that generation that is a somewhat more conservative minded. I have gone back and forth in my head wondering if it is worth coming out now so late in the day (I'm pushing 40). I truly believe that they would be supportive as would my two brothers and sister-in-law if I told them. But still I am reluctant.