1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Finally time to come out?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by hillwanderer, Sep 18, 2017.

1. hillwanderer

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I'm 23. I've known I was some form of queer for over 6 years, since about age 17 when I first started noticing girls. Over time I've defined my sexuality in various ways, from about 50/50 bisexual to now realizing that "attraction" to men wasn't really sexual. Now I consider myself 90-95% gay/lesbian and I just go with the term "queer". I've never come out to my immediate family because they (mostly my mom) are very conservative and Christian and have made many homophobic remarks in the past - stuff about how being gay is against God's plan, "love the sinner, hate the sin," etc. I have also been living at home with my parents since I graduated college because the jobs I've been able to find in what I studied have been a bit sporadic, and housing in my area is expensive. I'm starting a new, permanent job very soon and am looking for a room to rent in the area, but nothing is concrete yet.