Units of measurement

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Hexagon, Jan 6, 2014.

?

Which units do you prefer?

1. Metric

52 vote(s)
    71.2%
  2. Imperial

17 vote(s)
    23.3%
  3. Other

4 vote(s)
    5.5%
  1. Foxface

Metric is the only way to be...so simple

and yes I live in America. I got used to metric in two ways

1. Science...duh

2. Running...I never said I was running a 3.1 miler, I said 5K, 10K...the only time I used miles was when I ran my marathon, but even then I just said marathon not 26.2

Foxface

2. Beware Of You

Metric for everything (having done an Engineering degree Metric is a god send) but as a pilot I have to use Imperial measurements for altitude and distance (Nautical Miles) but bizzarely the length of runways at airports are given in meters over here so its a mess tbh.

Since I fly a Piper Arrow an American aircraft I have to do all the weights and peformance in imperial since that's the official figures form Piper.

So day to day (since I moved to Ireland driving is in Metric now) I use metric.

Although in the UK I use Imperial for road distances, and I casually give some figures in the old system, like my hight nobody says they are 190cm its always been 6'3" etc.

3. Goodnyte

I am seriously in the minority here. I use the Imperial system, and always will. Though I know that once I become a material scientist and shit, I will be forced to use the metric system. While the metric system is easy to understand, I will look at you like a head grew out of your ass if you use it talking to me. I use the Imperial because I am American, so that is what I grew up with and that is what will always be used here so I am going to stick with it. In science class and in engineering, I will gladly use the metric system, with the exception of Celsius degrees. That shit makes no sense in any way, shape, or fashion.

Anyways, that is just me.

4. HuskyPup

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone