New to gay sex

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by NewView78, May 29, 2013.

1. NewView78

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    There I said it... I'm new to the gay sex scene and don't really know what I'm doing. I'm in my mid 30's, I've been out for 6 months and in a relationship with the same man for that entire time, and he is the first man I've been sexual with.

These are my questions:

1.) Is unusual for two men to have different libidos? I can go all the time everyday, but he is fine with 2 or 3 times a week. Somehow I always imagined that the stereotype of men being whores would be true and that two men would have sex all the time.

2.) Over the past six months, we've only had anal sex a handful of times, the BF on bottom and me on top. We haven't had it in sometime, so I mentioned this and he told me that for him, he can be fine with having anal only a couple of times a year. Is this unusual? For me, anal sex is the ultimate form intimacy but he doesn't seem to share that view. Is it wrong of me to think this way?

3.) After we hadn't had anal sex for a while, I thought he might want to be on top and just afraid to ask, so I mentioned it as I am also curious to see what it feels like myself. When I mentioned this, he seemed taken aback and uncomfortable at the whole idea of him being on top and me on bottom. Then he told me that he had never been a top before. Is this unusual? If he is a 100% bottom, was it a faux pas to ask to try something different? He didn't say he'd never do it, all he said was maybe down the road. He has been out for the better part of a decade.

4.) While the BF is out going in many regards, he is rather reserved with talking about sex, while I am much more direct. The good news is that we talk about it. However, how can I make my needs known, while at the same time making him feel comfortable enough to share with me his own needs?