Eating meat is immoral.

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Zoiek, May 28, 2010.

1. partietraumatic

1/3 of the world's grain is used to feed cattle for beef consumption. Clearly this is wrong. It is wrong that people are starving but we use grain that could feed them in order that we can eat our unhealthy diets.
    'The rich are dying from affluence while the poor are dying from starvation'
    Certainly state of affairs this is morally wrong.

However i do not believe the act of eating meat is inherently wrong. What is wrong is our economic and political systems which favour us having too much meat, over others having none. That is immoral. Simply eating meat is not, in my eyes.

Also i'm lead to believe that our consumption of meat, and therefore high protein intake, was a key reason why we developed further than most other organisms. But i'm not a scientist, i don't know whether this is irrefutable, or just something to be debated.

2. HalfInsane

I feel that the problem with meat comes not from the consumption of it, but the over consumption of it (as I believe someone stated earlier in the thread).

Daily, a person is supposed to have one to two servings of meat/high protein foods. A serving being the size of a deck of cards... now, how many people well exceed that amount in North America? I'd have to say most.

As a result of the beyond excessive demand for meat, the whole system by which it is produced has become extremely mechanized and excessive.

Firstly, the point originally made was the amount of feed needed for the animals; it could easily be better used to feed other people, certainly. There's also the matter of pollution (due to factory farms), and the MASSIVE amount of water consumed. Not only do animals drink water, of course... but what grows the crops? More water. The thousands upon thousands of farm animals then it turn pollute the already pressured water systems. So, people and the environment are both negatively affected.