1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Top Surgery Nerves

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Molko, Nov 9, 2018.

1. Molko

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Two months today i’ll be having top surgery! I’m really excited, I’ve been binding for nine years. I believe that I got used to the uncomfortability, just sort of got on with it. Finally though, it’s happening.

So it’s weird like I’m so excited, but I’m also incredibly nervious. It’s not even so much a gender thing, like a separate issue all of their own, they just shouldn’t be there, it’s been distressing and repulsive for fifteen years. But now they are going to go.

When I think about surgery I’m excited but also get the sick feeling. I don’t know if it’s disbeleif, a weird attachment, normal fear of change or maybe it is just excitement. It’s hard to articulate.

Does anyone relate to the whole post surgery nerves and what was it like after?

Mihael likes this.
  2. Harjus

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I think it's normal to be afraid of something before major life changing surgery no matter how much you want it. It would be weirder to not be afraid at all I think although it would be more comfortable.

I was really nervous before my top surgery. It was my first surgery ever and I was terrified of anesthesia. I was sure I was going to die. I also couldn't even imagine my life without the literal burden I had and going out without a binder. It felt too good to be true.