1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thinking of breaking up because...

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by e6000, Oct 17, 2017.

1. e6000

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I've been questioning my gender for a few months now, and for now, I've come to the conclusion that I'm somewhere on the spectrum of nonbinary genders.

My point here is that it's kind of been making me reconsider staying with my girlfriend. I know that I like girls, and she is bisexual, and says that she'd still want to be with me no matter what my gender was, but when I first introduced to her the idea that I thought that I was not a cis girl, she seemed very nonchalant about it, and continued identifying me with feminine nouns and pronouns. I've never told her specifically that I don't want those things to describe me, but even just her referring to me as a girl has felt very... sharp.

I feel like throughout our relationship she has focused a lot on the positive feelings associated with being gay, and if I'm not a girl, that would make it not a similar-gendered relationship, and that seems to be an important thing to her. I don't know if I want to pursue a relationship any further, just on the basis that it won't be what it has been, and I don't know if either of us are capable to put in the high amounts of effort it would take in order for us to figure out what it should be while I'm still trying to figure myself out, and figure out if she's going to be agreeable with it.

2. Mabel

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    A few people