1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Socially White, culturally Hispanic

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by ECMember, Mar 19, 2018.

1. ECMember

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Does anyone identity with different ethenicities while in public/private?

I'm a mid 20s Latin guy. But socially I feel aligned to a White identity because I don't speak Spanish in public, I have a bachelors degree, I live in the suburbs of my town, I know my white acquaintances/friends than those of Latin origin.

Culturally I identify as Hispanic because of ancestry ties.

Sometimes on job applications that don't have a Hispanic box, I just check White.

I'm unsure how it will be if I ever get married with a White woman(that's my goal) and have kids, what will be their check box: White or Hispanic.

I feel like I've been slowly "whitening" myself as an attempt to achieve mobility.

2. Destin

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Those aren't mutually exclusive titles. You can be both white and Hispanic, which is why the census specifies "non-Hispanic white" when they mean people of European ancestry. If you're darker skinned I guess that wouldn't apply though and your kids would be whatever they wanted to be, since they would be half white and half Hispanic either would work.

Don't take this the wrong way or anything, but some of the things you wrote are kinda racist towards Hispanics. As you can see in my profile picture I'm white so it doesn't offend me personally, but you saying you have a bachelors degree and live in the suburbs as proof of your whiteness is like saying Hispanic people aren't able to get bachelors degrees and nice suburban houses, which they obviously can since you did.