1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scared for my future as a refugee...

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by AnxiousTeenager, Jul 3, 2018.

1. AnxiousTeenager

Hello all,

It's been about a while since I have last posted here, and I really just want to be strong enough to reach out for emotional support. I hope someone can take a little bit of time to read this.

I'm an eighteen year old guy from divorced parents with three older siblings. Once I was seventeen I graduated from high school and thankfully through the stress, pain and high anxiety of succeeding I got good enough grades to apply for a degree in Canada. I felt blessed. I needed a reliable way of escaping my country and from my family if I ever wanted to be happy in life. I knew that I was gay but felt ashamed for all of my teenage life and told no one about it except in this site. As I posted a while back, I had a traumatic experience when my mother threatened not to send me to Canada and "fix my wrong thoughts" just from simply being suspicious of me being gay in a conversation we had. I had to deny it to her, and agree with her just so I can convince her to let me travel. I succeeded only on a thin margin.

I got on a plane halfway across the world on September. It felt relieved and scared, but calmed myself on the hope that my father is going to be able to pay for my degree and I just need to push through for five years so I can immigrate. Unfortunately, a month after is when I was depressed to realize my dad's company went bankrupt, and fired him. I put into mind that things might not go as planned, but he was my only hope of having a constant source of money for my university.