1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rant about LGBT Education in Schools

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by AngelBlade, Mar 9, 2017.

1. AngelBlade

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    All but family
    Hey! This is my first time ever making a thread so bear with me aha. (Also, I hope I'm posting this in the right place!). I'm currently a senior in highschool and something I've noticed all throughout my education is that sexual education and classes like Child Development never talk about LGBT+. It sucks, especially since I live in a more conservative state, and we've had people get bullied to the point of death. I think there needs to be a greater emphasis (or any at all o-o) on LGBT.

This all stemmed from one particular class : Child Development, my last elective credit. We spent a good month learning about marriage and when it's time, how you know it's right, and how you start your family - and yet never covered anything about the LGBT community. It talked briefly about adoption but it never once mentioned or showed about what it could be like for us. I understand that some religious families don't always agree with that being taught. But I think, at least in public schools, it should be. If you don't want your child seeing that then fine, put them in a church run private school.

These are at least my thoughts. I don't know if anyone will see this or even care aha but I felt like I needed to get it off my chest and I love having debate/discussions with people! I'm always open to seeing others points of view! Thanks for letting me share this ^_^.

2. Bolt35

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone