1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Quitting smoking

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by aspie musician, Mar 23, 2014.

1. So I have had some experience with substances and managed to quit most of them relatively easily.I have been struggling with quitting smoking a bit though.I managed to quit for a month but started again(although it was limited to 2 ciggies a week instead of my normal 20 a day habit)I want to attempt quitting again however.So hoping for some moral support by ex-smokers or people in general.I feel I understand the psychology behind the addiction fairly well,however,a little support always helps.

2. White Knight

You can do it just be more determined. No slacking with "One doesn't effect I can still quit" kind of thinking.

I am on 2 week of quitting. It is going good other than some physical problems (like sleep disorder and being tired). My usually daily ciggies were 40-50 at minimum, yeah chain smoker here.

For me quitting process is one way street now. I also quit smoking a couple of years back for a month but when I started to gain weight I chickened and started smoking again. This time I know I will gain weight but will start working out next month, as soon as my breathing becomes better) so no problem. I know there will be cravings but they pass... when they hit so hard I remind me this is me taking my life back, everything will be better. You know what everything going better since I quit. I feel more positive, stronger and happier.

You can do it. Just believe in yourself. :slight_smile:

3. Claudette

Claudette Guest

I used to (as a guy) smoke 3/4 of a pack in a day, before I started Hormones my doctor said I should quit, as it could increase my blood clot chances... I haven't quit yet per-say.