1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Picking a guitar

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by solarcat, Aug 17, 2020.

1. solarcat

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Family only
    Being somewhat inspired by certain artists, I've been thinking that I want to learn the guitar. But I don't really know anything about picking out a guitar.

My dad tried teaching me and my brother how to play, but my brother is the one who really got good at it. I switched over to drums and keyboard. So I have some musical knowledge already, and while I'm hardly "good", I do know the basics of playing music.

I think I'd choose an electric, since they're quieter on their own (and I don't live alone). But then, I doubt an acoustic will make more noise than my keyboard, so I'd probably go for whichever is cheaper.

Does anyone have any advice on picking out a guitar? What to look for, what to consider?

And in light of the virus, I should probably find out if they can even let anyone touch the guitars before buying them...

2. okherewego

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hey solarcat,

Ten-year guitar veteran here: I'd highly recommend buying an acoustic guitar first, since one of the most important things for new guitarists to develop is finger/hand strength. While an acoustic requires more strength than an electric, this added resistance helps build it up faster.