1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Out and Sober

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by ColoradoRyan, Jun 20, 2017.

1. ColoradoRyan

Hello ECer's -

I hope this finds you all well. If there is anything I know about coming out and then getting sober, it's that the process can seem daunting and downright scary. But, I am proof that it is possible and maybe one of the most honest actions you take in your life.

I came out not quite 2 years ago. I was also married with 2 kids. The kids are still around and I am happy to say that my wife and I, although separated, are still close friends. Hiding from who I was for so many years ate me away at the core. I must say I was a professional at hiding from my feelings, and could push emotions away like the best of them. I was also geniunely happy with my wife. If I were straight we would still be together. But, as time went on I could no longer hide from who I was. Memories started to flood my consciousness and they all pointed back to being a teenager and in love and lust with other guys. I seemed to always choose those straight guys who I thought may have similar interests. But, I never came out or expressed my feelings to anyone.

Time went on and after a massive anxiety attack and the death of my mother I could no longer act like everything was ok. My determination to keep my marriage together kept me going, but in a constant state of fear and dread. Key alcohol, one of the best drugs on the planet for making things seem ok and for taking your anxiety level from a 10 to a 3 in the time it takes to drink 2 beers. This started innocent enough, after all my entire family and all my friends drank. And we liked it.