1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Legal custody of dog

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by ErickWolf, Jan 18, 2021.

1. ErickWolf

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hi,

So to make a long, weird story short, my dad has been acting kind of bonkers lately (well, more so than usual, lately). This year has really shown me he's...got issues. I'm 20, my parents are divorced, and I'm currently a college sophomore living with my dad, and my dog is living with Dad too. If we need to get out of here one of these days if Dad totally loses his shit, how do my mom and I go about getting legal custody of the dog?

We don't exactly have much money to work with either but if needed I'm willing to make a fund page or find a job or something. While I'm here writing, I might as well also ask how stuff like college financial aid works when someone moves suddenly, but most important is the custody. The financial aid I can figure out probably, though of course if someone can answer me on that I'd also really appreciate it.

Basically if anyone wants to know wtf is going on here, between the toxic nasty comments, the frankly concerning political and bigoted comments, and the possibility of him moving his out-of-state girlfriend in here (they got engaged after literally barely even dating, and even his own best friend thinks he's gone nuts, for context), I'm starting to get the feeling again that this is not a long-term arrangement anymore and I'm basically kinda preparing to get me and my dog out of here if need be. I've got a bag with some necessities packed, so if I have to leave and manage to grab that on my way out, I won't be completely screwed and left with nothing.

Anyway, if anyone takes this seriously and helps me out with this (please), thank you so much in advance.