1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

just a thought...

Discussion in 'Empty Closets Help and Feedback' started by Techcompu2, Mar 30, 2009.

1. Techcompu2

2. Shevanel

I saw this on 60 minutes, it looks pretty scary, damn 14 year old Russian Hackers...

3. Colly

I've heard about this virus, but at work (I'm a Computer Technician), we just think it's a hoax, but we're prepared for a flood of calls, just in case.

I figured that I might post a few tips to help keep yourself protected, or at least limit the impact of the infection if you're unlucky enough to get it.

Firstly and most importantly, perform a full backup of all of your important data. It doesn't really matter how you do it, or what you back-up too, as long as you have saved your data. If something does happen, at least you have your stuff.

Secondly, Check your Anti-Virus. An out-of-date Anti-Virus application is almost as bad as having nothing at all. You may also want to check how long you have remaining on your Anti-Virus subscription, because if that has expired, you will definitely be out of date.
    If this is the case, it will be in your best interests to download an Anti-Virus program. Some free ones are;

AVG Free 8.5
    ESET Nod32 4.0 (30 Day Trial)

Now. You have checked your anti-virus status, but you can do more to help keep yourself protected. Most Anti-Virus applications (in my experience) don't always catch everything relating to Malware/Spyware. You may want to download some of these apps just in case.

CCleaner 2.18
    CCleaner Clears out temporary internet files, deletes web browsing history, and clears temporary system files. This tool helps you reclaim disk space, but also clears out the Temp. Internet Files, where some viruses do hide, which si why this tool is useful.

Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware