1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is learning Japanese as a European any useful?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Mihael, Sep 21, 2018.

1. Mihael

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Like in the title. I see that for job or for research more popular European languages are quite useful. German, French, Russian. I started learning Japanese at uni, because I found the Japanese culture interesting and the school offers it for free. As a hobby. But... can I use it in any way? It is said that Asian people speak English very well anyway and will talk to white people in English. Japan is a strong country when it comes to technology but so are South Korea and China.

2. Lin1

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Learning a language is always useful, Japanese people just like Chinese and most Asian folks rarely speak English unless in important positions where English is necessary and even then actually!
    So learning Asiatic languages is very useful as much less common to find European/Westerners who do than people with the ability to Speak English and other European languages. ( And I speak as someone who speak several European languages fluently!)

You might find that learning Japanese efficiently on your own is impossible though, learning in the actual country and with locals is the absolute best way to learn any kind of language but especially Japanese and similar!

So you might want to plan a year abroad to Japan or extensive trips there in the future if you actually want a certain level of fluency useful for a work environment.

3. tystnad

tystnad Guest