1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Imposter Syndrome - any advice?

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by RainbowRyn, Apr 20, 2019.

1. RainbowRyn

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    All but family
    Hi everyone,
    I’m new to EC and relatively new to the LGBT community in general. I’m 22, female, and realized I’m pansexual about a year and a half ago. I grew up in a really conservative, heteronormative household and thought I was straight for most of my life. I just started dating a girl for the first a couple months ago and I love everything about our relationship, and it’s been really validating for me to kind of confirm that my sexuality is what I think it is. Recently I’ve started feeling what I can best describe as imposter syndrome. I don’t know if it’s because she’s my first girlfriend, but I’ve started having this weird feeling that I’m a straight girl trying to act queer. I’m definitely more femme and I feel like I come off as looking really straight, which has made me feel really insecure about how I dress and just my overall appearance. Me and my girlfriend hung out with another lesbian couple yesterday and I felt like I didn’t know how to act, and I’m not sure why. I feel like all of it relates back to this imposter thing. Has anyone else experienced this before?

Meander and Love4Ever like this.
  2. L8bloomer

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hey and welcome! I get that. Do you think it’s related to you being pansexual as opposed to gay? Sometimes there can be a feeling of not quite fitting in to either the gay or straight world...

mattblack likes this.
  3. Leah061

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    A few people