1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm getting a new laptop, help!

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by mychemromance99, Apr 28, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mychemromance99

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    All but family
    I've had an HP Pavilion laptop for a couple years now but it's been a pain in the past year or so.

It would overheat and shut down often even in the middle of ls demanding games like CS GO, and recently even during regular browsing. This is not the first time I've faced this issue,a and the geniuses at the service center couldn't help with it either. The warranty has expired too.

I've been thinking of getting a new laptop now. I'm a programmer. I work with C, C++, machine learning with Python, web development and I've been learning to develop games using Unity for a while now. I also fool around with Blender, 3D rendering and stuff like that from time to time.

I'd like to have a decently specced laptop at around 1500 to 1800$.
    I've realized that gaming laptops could be a great option for programmers because they usually have better displays, faster processors and dedicated graphics too.

A gaming laptop with an Nvidia 1060 seems to hit the sweet spot as the GPU can handle most AAA gaming titles at high settings fairly well and would also help with 3D rendering.

1070 and higher variants seem like an overkill as I'm likely to upgrade to a new laptop three years later, and I'm not an extreme gamer.

MSI has come out with a new line of 8th gen processors and I've shortlisted that new GP63RE with the 1060, https://www.msi.com/Laptop/GP63-Leopard-8RE

I'd like your opinions, since the laptop isn't out yet and costs me about 1750$, that is, a preorder.

Also, recommendations are welcome!

2. Miaplacidus

Montevideo, Uruguay / Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Gender Pronoun: