1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I feel literally overcome with fear and sadness

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by SureCarol, Sep 7, 2018.

1. SureCarol

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    I'm a college sophomore. I'm from a conservative, Christian town, and it's honestly not that hard to hide who I am. I wasn't even sure who that was until maybe two summers ago. I knew I was different and that I didn't long for and think of guys the way girls my age do. Since actually realizing who I am I've been on an emotional rollercoaster. My upbringing made me hate who I was. I looked up anything, everything, to convince myself I was wrong. Then when that didn't work I tried to convince myself the Bible didn't care about homosexuality. I still don't know if that's true and it hurts. It may seem ridiculous because it would just seem easier to renounce my faith than worry - but I can't. Over the past year, I have come to accept myself in private. I understand my infatuation with female actresses and why I don't notice the cute boy in class, and most days I feel comfortable in myself. The problem is that I want to come out. I want to talk about crushes. I want to have real conversations with my twin sister and best friends. But the thought of ripping off the band-aid literally makes my heart sink and crumble. I don't think they would quit hanging out with me but I don't think they will understand. I just don't know how to move forwards, but I'm miserable in the silence.

2. Love is love

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Not out at all