1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to Ignore People Who Gossip About Others and Just Come Out?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by 18breanna, Apr 30, 2017.

1. 18breanna

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hi, new member here who needs some advice :tears:

I go to a small co-ed school; the kids are actually pretty nice/mature, but it seems 60% of their conversations are gossip about other people. This is my first year so most people don't really know much about me, but I've heard lots of people gossip about other people's business, including who's gay.

The school is actually pretty liberal, one of the most popular kids in my graduating class is openly gay, but I always chicken out whenever there's an opportunity to disclose that I like girls (even when talking to the gay student [although I have told one very loyal person!])

Should even attempt to overcome the gossip that would inevitably come if I told anyone or just have ~no comment~ when the topic arises...even though I feel horrible when changing subject whenever someone presses me for answers

Thank you if you read all of this !!! LOL (*hug*)

2. beenthrdonetht

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hi Breanna,

First, it sounds like your environment is (yay!) better than those of other posts here on EC. So to our or not to out is the question. Here's a plus: other non-straight girls will know you're available. The minuses? We know those. The next question: how to do it? Without making it seem like some sort of announcement. What do you think? Have there been many opportunities so far to disclose?

3. 18breanna

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    There have been lots of oppurtunities to disclose it but it will either