1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to create a schedule for working at home.

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Vega222, May 10, 2021.

1. Vega222

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I've made a few other threads about suffering from my remote job. I am a software developer who have been working at home since more than half a year ago. Recently, I have been unable to do my work (excessive procrastination, etc).

I want to try a new solution. I was thinking of creating a fixed schedule for my work. Like, specifying a time such as 8 am to 6 pm for doing my job every day. But I've never tried something like this.

Any idea about how to do it successfully? Tips? Tricks?

PS I don't have a laptop. So, I have to stay at home and I can't go to a library etc to work from there.

2. DecentOne

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi Vega222,

Sometimes setting the schedule can help, but if you are more motivated by a task list it might be workable to say from 9:00-11:00 I’m focusing on this software issue. Then I get up and walk for 15 minutes. Then I work on the next software issue, then a break for lunch.

Vega222 likes this.
  3. Vega222

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Has anyone used this tool:
    https://www.focusmate.com/

Hey, I forgot something. I mean, when I'm given some tasks it'll be fine. But many times my employer wants me to learn more advanced things for days, without working on real websites/projects. This would be different. Learning can be boring. So, that's where I procrastinate much more.
    Especially, sometimes there are no straightforward tutorials for the things I want to learn.